Now Playing: Die In Your Arms (Meeting Justin Bieber)

3 years ago, I was just another “lonely” girl anticipating the coming of my ultimate crush, the teen pop superstar, Justin Bieber.

I know how shocking it is because at a first glance, you wouldn’t even think I were a “Belieber“. I can’t believe myself either but there’s something about this boy that captured my heart a couple of years back, leaving me in a point of NO RETURN.

I was able to get free tickets to his concert but was in high spirits about meeting him as well. I had so much faith God would make a way for me to meet him. But it was a ‘no’ and it left me crushed for days. I can remember the very same feeling I had in tears, crouched down in the corner of my room beside my JB poster. Just another fan girl, crying over her heart’s sole desire.

Me at Justin Bieber's concert last May 10, 2010
Me at Justin Bieber’s concert last May 10, 2010

Because I am a woman of faith, it didn’t take me long to get back up my feet and remind myself that God had something better planned. I know God is the God of the impossible and so somehow, someday, someway, I would…WILL meet Justin Bieber.

For 3 years, I kept praying for it.  Backed up by the verses Luke 1:37 saying  “Nothing is impossible with God” and 1 John 5:14 Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us.” I held my head up high.

True enough, this year, by His grace alone, on December 10, 2013 I was able to live my long awaited dream.

The thing is… I feel like I don’t even deserve it. Justin (SECRETLY) came to the Philippines for only one reason – which was to give aid to the victims of the super typhoon Yolanda. (He didn’t even want people to know he was coming!) But as soon as the “rumors” of his arrival started spreading, I became disturbed and restless. I NEEDED to see Justin. After a heart check, I realized that my happiness was based on my own selfish ambition. I shouldn’t be sad because he wasn’t going to spend time in Manila, thus, giving me the hope of meeting him. I should be happy because he came to help the ones in need. The people who since that tragedy, struggle each and every day, looking for a reason to smile. And at least for a little while, they’ve finally found a reason to. They finally have the opportunity to escape their mind from the harsh realities of their situation. But that’s the thing… it’s temporary because even after all this, it wouldn’t be enough. I mean, come on, as big as the impact he has on millions of people, it still wouldn’t even be enough to make up for the pain and loss they experienced. 

It was then that I learned to put others happiness and needs above mine. My sorrow turned into joy-the kind you feel when you have everybody else’s intention rather than yours in mind.

The day he came, I spent the whole afternoon asleep. But the moment I had awaken, I received a text message from one of my friends, Enzo, asking if I wanted to SEE HIM. SEE JUSTIN BIEBER.

I could not believe my eyes. In fact, I felt it was just too good to be true and maybe something bad was going to happen. (For an optimist, I can be pretty pessimistic) I prayed and prayed and prayed. Praise the Lord because the night ended well. I did get to meet him! 

It was so self-less and unexpected of my friend, Enzo, who didn’t even want to come but skipped his dance training to take me to see Justin. I’ll never forget this.

And so I praise God. I had never been so star-stuck my whole life. When I approached him, he literally welcomed me with open arms up to which he hugged me and I still couldn’t stop saying “Hi” for like the Nth time. He smelled so good. When I finally regained my sanity, I asked him, “Can I have a kiss?” . “Kiss me here...” he replied as he pulled me closer and kissed me. The picture turned out well because… well, I was kissing him the whole time because YOLO amiright? The feeling of running into his arms was unexplainable. In my head all I could think of were the words to “Die In Your Arms” because it was exactly what I felt like at the moment.

Pucker up, Biebster!
Pucker up, Biebster!

Who wouldn’t want to meet THE Justin Bieber? However, what made this moment so special was (1) that it was a PRIVATE gathering, which meant not a lot of people were given the opportunity. (2) If I had met him years back, it would have probably been in a fan gathering thingy (the usual ones) wherein a lot of people would have been in the photo and we would be completely rushed (3) I wouldn’t have had the guts to ask for a kiss and to kiss him back.  (4) Because it was a PRIVATE thing, I’m probably the only 16 year old who had this opportunity. WIN! Talk about perfect timing.

Thank you, Jesus. The Lord hears our prayers and knows our deepest desires. Even if I had to wait a couple of years to get a sweet taste of my victory, it was all worth it because He had caused it to be perfectly timed. ❤ This is all by his grace. Even after all my failures and short-comings, the Lord chose to bless me.

Now, like Justin, let’s continue to help the victims of typhoon Yolanda! Donate HERE! and you too could get a chance to meet Justin next year!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Anon says:

    Im really glad you enjoyed it! 🙂 -zozozozozozozozzo

Leave a comment